Uber Driver Requirements..

Us Ubers get asked a LOT of the same questions.. we are the new rockstars after all..  By far and away the most common question we get asked is “How long have you been driving for?”..

I, myself, have been driving for about a year since Nov ’14..  Back then I didn’t tell anyone I was an Uber driver and kept that card close to my chest.  I only announced it to my Facebook world a few months ago.  The possibility of receiving a fine from being pulled over by a TMR officer was very real back when I started.  I didn’t pick up anyone in the city (Brisbane) at all for about the first month I started driving.  I was picking up and dropping folks off in taxi ranks back then as well.. I’m chuckling at that right now.

One other question we get asked often is what are the requirements to drive Uber.. for QLD? they’re relatively simple..

a) you require a 4 door car with seating for 4 passengers.. you can have more seats but Uber will only insure you for 4 passengers.. If you have a commercial vehicle with commercial insurance then you’re already insured for your vehicle’s seating capacity.  You tradies.. before you ask, yes, there are some people using nice dual-cab utes

b) a vehicle less than 9 years old.  As of the date of this blog post that means a 2006 or newer car.  The early days of Uber in QLD you could have a car over 9 years old until the rego year’s end.. I believe that still is the case.

c) an open driver’s license held for one year.  Self explanatory.  No novice drivers..

d) a Driver’s Authorisation.. 2 parts to this – TMR have these forms or the Uber offices have these as well.. a doctor’s medical certificate and a traffic history component.  If you can’t remember your traffic infringement history TMR will help you with that.. check uberqld.info for medical facilities that do a discount doctor’s certificate for Ubers.

e) Uber will do a criminal history check as well.. so if you don’t think you will pass that.. well, you’re stuck up the proverbial creek without.. y’know..

f) that’s pretty much it.. apart from maybe a friendly disposition.. oh, and comprehensive insurance.

Once upon a time you could probably use your mum’s car to Uber in but nowadays due to having to register for an ABN it’ll be much better to own a car in your own name for both registration and insurance.. for tax purposes.

I’ve mentioned in another blog post that Uber doesn’t have access to the daily criminal check database that taxis do.. but you’d have to be the world’s dumbest Uber driver to assault someone in an Uber.. apart from the excellent 2-way rating system, Uber also tracks your phone and that of the rider’s.. and also records the trip.  In other words, it’s a safe service..

If you’re not that much into hospitality then Uber probably isn’t for you.. If you are then you’ll have a ball.. here is some feedback that riders have left me anonymously..

image

Awww shucks..

Trevaaah

2 thoughts on “Uber Driver Requirements..

  1. Trevaaah, my Uber Sensei. I was seriously thinking of becoming a Uber driver on the Gold Coast. Vehicle and experience with the public are not of concern, but in 2005 I got myself into a little trouble and managed to score a police record for my idiocy! Nothing violent or even criminal as far as most would be concerned, and I have never spent a night in jail. Let’s just say I had somethings in my possession that I legally shouldn’t have had. I don’t know the requirements for Uber, as far as what is accepted and what is not when it comes to this kind of thing. Or even the statute of limitations regarding the age of such a record. Would you know? Any help would be gratefully accepted. I know I should probably ask directly, but I am still embarrassed at my stupidity and being pigeon holed as the seedy type, when I have never been that way. In my current employment where I see about the same 80 clients a day, all with various ages and backgrounds. I have keys and alarm codes for several of their businesses and private homes as well. And all but two had seen me in the newspaper and knew about it by the next day. I didn’t lose a single client, and even got some claps on the back. As a point, I was worried about getting chastised by one client, an older lady in her mid eighties who is extremely proper. She gave me a stern look and told me in her very well spoken voice ” I hear you have been a bad boy” I must have looked concerned, as I was, she then said ” Don’t worry, I have done so many bad things in my past, I make you look like a Saint”. So please understand all this embellishment is so you can understand, that I feel as do many others, that I’m not a bad person. Stephen

    Like

Leave a comment